You are here: Human Rights Award > awarding committee
8/17/2017 : 7:47 am : +0200

awarding committee

To § 3 of the statutes on the presentation of the Human Rights Award of the City of Weimar as of August 31th, 1995, as stated in the 2nd amending statute on April 28th, 2004.

I. The awarding committee consists of the following members:

  1. Chairperson
  2. Deputy / Lord Mayor of the City of Weimar
  3. One representative for each fraction, who need not necessarily be member of the City Council
  4. A permanent member of the culture committee and the official in charge of migration-related affairs
  5. Further members and representatives of:
  • Amnesty International
  • Terre des Hommes
  • Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker
  • freelancer

The City Council has to confirm the chairperson as well as the persons listed in 5.

II. According to the awarding criteria stated in attachment 2, the awarding committee confirmed by the City Council checks the applications submitted or suggests own ones. The awarding committee decides upon the winner by July 30th of each year.